Books
in black and white
Main menu
Home About us Share a book
Books
Biology Business Chemistry Computers Culture Economics Fiction Games Guide History Management Mathematical Medicine Mental Fitnes Physics Psychology Scince Sport Technics
Ads

A raference for the rest of us - Scott J.

Scott J. A raference for the rest of us - Wiley publishing , 2003. - 387 p.
ISBN: 0-7645-1698-1
Download (direct link): microsoftcrmford2003.pdf
Previous << 1 .. 93 94 95 96 97 98 < 99 > 100 101 102 103 104 105 .. 117 >> Next

Deleting a Contact or History item in Outlook doesn’t delete the item in Microsoft CRM.
Deleting a Pending Task or Appointment in Outlook deletes those items in Microsoft CRM.
Deleting from Microsoft CRM
Alternatively, here’s what happens if you delete Records in Microsoft CRM — Records that have been linked to Outlook, that is:
Deleting a Contact, History item, or e-mail message in Microsoft CRM doesn’t delete the item from Outlook, but it does break the link between Microsoft CRM and Outlook for those items.
Deleting a pending Task or Appointment in Microsoft CRM also deletes the item from Outlook.
Remember that after an item is completed (for example, moved to History), its active link between Outlook and Microsoft CRM no longer exists. The reference to the initial linkage between the item and the Microsoft CRM Record to which it’s been linked remains, but the item and Record are no longer associated. Deleting a History item in one application doesn’t delete it in the other application.
On the other hand, items that have not been completed are still actively linked, so deleting such an item in one application causes it to be deleted in the other.
Synchronizing
By making a copy of your Microsoft CRM data and storing it on your local computer, the synchronization process enables you to work at home or on the road. Although you can travel and work offline without a direct connection to the server, the data you enter will not be available to your co-workers,
Chapter 26: Imitating Outlook S1?
and any associated workflow rules will not be triggered. So, say you’re working remotely at home on your laptop and enter a new Lead located in Boston. Don’t expect the workflow rule that automatically schedules a follow up call for the Northeast rep to kick in until you synchronize with the home office. Workflow rules are covered in Chapter 22.
Another important point here: The longer you wait between synchronization sessions, the longer each session will be (especially if you’re relegated to using a slow dial-up connection in a hotel). So, synchronizing your data back to the server regularly has important advantages.
Going offline
When you’re ready to leave the office, follow these steps to go offline and make a local copy of your data to take with you:
1. From within Outlook, Click the Go Offline button in the Microsoft CRM toolbar.
The Offline Configuration window appears (as shown in Figure 26-9).
Figure 26-9:
Setting your synchronization options.
2. Select any necessary options. These options are as follows:
• Include Attachments in the Information Available to Me Offline:
This option downloads all files attached to various Record types. This option gives you more information but creates a longer download time.
318 Part VI: Appendixes
• Only Synchronize Data from My Business Unit: This option enables only information associated with your Business Unit to be downloaded. This assumes, of course, that Business Units have been created and defined. (See Chapter 19 for more on Business Units.)
• Sales Literature: This option enables you to select any pieces of Sales Literature you wish to download to your local machine.
• Download Documents Only If the Size Is Less Than XX KB:
This option allows you to set a size limitation for files that will be downloaded. (Do you really need to download that 8MB PowerPoint presentation?)
3. Click OK.
The Downloading Status window appears and displays the progress of the synchronization process.
You now have a copy of the database with all the Records and Activities to which you have access rights. Subsequent Go Offline sessions, with the same options as the previous session, only download any changes made to the database since the last time you went offline.
Going online
You can go back online either by using your normal network connection at the office, by going through your connection at home, or by using a dial-up connection in a hotel. Obviously, you’re weighing convenience against speed. Follow these steps to go online:
1. From within Outlook, Click the Go Online button in the Microsoft CRM toolbar.
A window appears and asks Are you sure you want to go back online?
2. Click Yes.
You are now online, and the Go Online button has changed to Go Offline.
The “Last One In” Rule
Consider the following brief scenario explaining the rules behind whose data survives when more than one person is synchronizing data to the server. You went offline last night at 5:00 PM. You had dinner with a client, Ms. J. Powers, at 7:30 PM and found that her first name is really Joan, not Joanne like you thought it was.
Chapter 2G: imitating Outlook 319
So, after dinner, you opened up your offline copy of Microsoft CRM (using the Outlook client) and, on Ms. Powers’ Contact Record, changed her first name from Joanne to Joan. You didn’t have time to send this data to the office so it would be synchronized with the office version of the data.
Previous << 1 .. 93 94 95 96 97 98 < 99 > 100 101 102 103 104 105 .. 117 >> Next